# IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA WESTERN DIVISION

CITY OF COUNCIL BLUFFS, IOWA,	)
Plaintiff,	) )
and	)
STATE OF NEBRASKA, ex rel., DOUGLAS	)
J. PETERSON, Attorney General of the State	)
Nebraska,	)
	)
and	)
STATE OF IOWA,	
Latamana n Diaintiff	)
Intervenor-Plaintiffs	)
v.	) Civ. No. 1:17-cv-00033-SMR-CFB
	)
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF	)
THE INTERIOR, DAVID BERNHARDT, in his	)
official capacity as Secretary of the United	) PLAINTIFFS'
States Department of the Interior; NATIONAL	NOTICE OF APPEAL
INDIAN GAMING COMMISSION; JONODEV	)
OSCEOLA CHAUDHURI, in his official capacity	
as Chairman of the National Indian Gaming	)
Commission; and KATHRYN ISOM-CLAUSE,	)
in her official capacity as Vice Chair of the	)
National Indian Gaming Commission,	)
Defendants	)
Defendants.	<i>)</i>
	)

## **Notice of Appeal**

Notice is hereby given that the City of Council Bluffs, Iowa, the State of Iowa, and the State of Nebraska hereby appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit from (1) the Final

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Mr. Chaudhuri resigned from the National Indian Gaming Commission effective May 15, 2019. Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 25(d), as a public officer, his successor when named can be "automatically substituted as a party."

Judgment issued on March 28, 2019 (ECF No. 56) and all the orders incorporated into the Final Judgment, including the Summary Judgment Order issued on March 26, 2019 (ECF No. 55); and (2) the Post-judgment Order on Motions issued on August 12, 2019 (ECF No. 77).

Respectfully Submitted August 26, 2019.

/8/	Rich	ard	Wade
/.3/	111.11.11.	$\alpha r \alpha$	vv aue

Richard Wade, City Attorney for Council Bluffs 209 Pearl Street Council Bluffs, Iowa 51503 Tel. (712) 890-5317

Counsel for Plaintiff

Fax. (712) 322-9255

Thomas J. Miller, Iowa Atty. General Jeffrey S. Thompson, Solicitor General

### /s/ David M. Ranscht

David M. Ranscht John R. Lundquist Assistant Attorneys General Hoover Building, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Des Moines, IA 50319 Tel. (515) 281-7175 Fax. (515) 281-4209 Jeffrey.thompson@ag.iowa.gov david.ranscht@ag.iowa.gov john.lundquist@ag.iowa.gov

Counsel for the State of Iowa

### **AND**

Douglas J. Peterson, Attorney General of Nebraska

#### /s/ Ryan S. Post

Ryan S. Post (*pro hac vice*)
Asst. Atty. General and Civil Litigation
Bureau Chief
Office of the Attorney General
2115 State Capitol
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509
Tel. (402) 471-2682
ryan.post@nebraska.gov

Counsel for the State of Nebraska