County opposes protections for sacred Mount Taylor

Commissioners in Cibola County, New Mexico, voted 4-1 against listing the sacred Mount Taylor on the state Register of Cultural Properties.

More than 200 people turned out for a county meeting on the issue. Acoma Pueblo, Laguna Pueblo, Zuni Pueblo, the Navajo Nation and the Hopi Tribe. want to protect Mount Taylor from uranium mining and other development.

The state Cultural Properties Review Committee put parts of Mount Taylor on the register on a temporary basis. But commissioners questioned whether the public was properly notified before the decision was made in February.

The temporary listing protects Mount Taylor for a year while the state investigates a permanent listing.

Get the Story:
Cibola County opposes Mount Taylor cultural listing (AP 4/30)
Rage over Mt. Taylor — Rumors of closure fly (The Gallup Independent 4/30)