South Dakota county to provide voting material in Lakota
The Department of Justice reached an agreement to protect the voting rights of Lakota speakers in Shannon County, South Dakota.

The county agreed to provide election materials in the Lakota language and to have trained bilingual election officials at polling sites.

Four of the five county commissioners are members of the Oglala Sioux Tribe. The county covers parts of the Pine Ridge Reservation.

Get the Story:
Feds, SD county reach voting agreement (The Rapid City Journal 4/26)
Press Release: Justice Department Announces Agreement Protecting the Rights of Lakota-Speaking Voters in Shannon County, S.D. (DOJ 4/26)