Witness list for House hearing on Alaska Native land bill
The House Natural Resources Committee holds a hearing tomorrow on H.R. 2099, the Southeast Alaska Native Land Entitlement Finalization Act.

The bill authorizes the transfer of land to Sealaska, an Alaska Native regional corporation. Up to 85,000 acres could be conveyed under the bill.

Sealaska chairman, Alaska State Sen. Albert Kookesh (D), has been in the news recently because he was ordered to issue an apology to the city of Craig over remarks he made to the city council about the bill. Kookesh is not scheduled to testify tomorrow.

The hearing takes place at 10am in Room 1324 of the Longworth House Office Building. The witness list follows:
Panel 1
Ms. Marcilynn Burke
Deputy Director for Programs and Policy, Bureau of Land Management

Mr. Jay Jensen
Deputy Under Secretary, Natural Resources and Environment, Department of Agriculture

Panel 2
Mr. Byron Mallot
Member, Board of Directors, Sealaska Corporation
accompanied by Jaeleen Araujo, Vice President and General Counsel, Sealaska Corporation

Mr. Don Hernandez
Point Baker / Port Protection Community Representative

Ms. Julie Kitka
President, Alaska Federation of Natives

Mr. Scott Newman
President, Alaska Bear Guides

Committee Notice:
Full Committee Legislative Hearing On H.R. 2099 (March 17, 2010)

Related Stories:
House Resources Committee hearing on Alaska land bill (3/11)
Editorial: Alaska Native lawmaker owes public apology (3/5)
Alaska Native lawmaker apologizes for ethics violation (3/4)
Editorial: Alaska Native corporation's weak defense (1/28)
Editorial: Alaska Native lawmaker jumped over the line (1/26)
Alaska Native lawmaker faces complaint for remarks (1/25)
Trial for Alaska subsistence fishing delayed (10/6)
Alaska Native man to challenge fishing citation (08/25)