Compacts | Opinion
Opinion: Board distributes $1.9M from Nottawaseppi Huron casino

"As Calhoun County's representative on the Firekeepers Local Revenue Sharing Board (FLRSB) I am happy to announce that the FLRSB has completed its work relative to the 2010 distribution of the initial payment of $1.9 million in "net win" from the casino's first five months of operation in 2009.The checks will be sent out within days to numerous local governments who undoubtedly will benefit from this revenue.

I believe the successful operation of the FLRSB thus far has been a result of the due diligence by the county and Emmett Township prior to the formation of the FLRSB, and the cooperation and assistance by the Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi Indians as to the application and interpretation of the amended compact. These efforts culminated with hard work and demonstrated commitment by all six members of the FLRSB to an open and transparent process to allocate the funds.

In late summer 2009, the compact between the tribe and the state was amended to include representatives from six local governments. The representatives crafted an interlocal agreement, adopted by each of the participating governments in late 2009. In early 2010, the appointed representatives: Greg Moore-Athens Township; Ken Tsuchiyama-City of Battle Creek; Mike Rae-Calhoun County; Gene Adkins-Emmett Charter Township; James Dyer-City of Marshall; and Jamie Stuck-Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi Indians, created a set of by-laws that comply with the compact and govern operation of the FLRSB. Each member agreed to serve without compensation and indicated their shared belief that fairness and transparency should be key motivating principles in the operation of the FLRSB."

Get the Story:
Michael Rae: Casino revenue-sharing process open, collaborative (The Battle Creek Enquirer 9/5)