Home > Opinion

Ryan Benally: Bears Ears was a false promise for Native Americans (May 26, 2017)

National Monument status for Bears Ears was full of false promises for Natives.

Adrian Jawort: Should non-Natives ever write about our people? (May 26, 2017)

Writing for Indian Country Today, Adrian Jawort offers some advice: 'Be cautious about stifling young writers for fear of toeing the appropriation line.'

Mark Trahant: Voting is just sooo hard in the era of Donald Trump (May 26, 2017)

One election will not erase what is Donald J. Trump.

Kevin Washburn: Indian Country feels the pain with Donald Trump (May 25, 2017)

Indian country will feel ‘tremendous fiscal pain’ if the Trump budget is passed.

Peter d'Errico: Founding Fathers conspired to take land from tribes (May 24, 2017)

‘The Northwest Ordinance’ exposes the murky dealings that lead to US jurisdiction extending beyond the 13 colonies.

Steven Newcomb: Monuments to white supremacy harm indigenous peoples (May 23, 2017)

While the New York Times addressed physical monuments of white supremacy in a recent editorial, they ignored the paper monuments that have affected Indigenous Peoples for years.

Mark Trahant: Funds for Indian health in danger under Republican rule (May 22, 2017)

Medicaid is the one part of Indian health funding that’s growing.

Harlan McKosato: DNA tests can't reveal your unique tribal history (May 22, 2017)

Genealogy sites thrive on our curiosity to know where we came from through our DNA

André Cramblit: Treasure your aunties and uncles for their histories (May 22, 2017)

Seek out your aunties and uncles or those who can weave the blanket of your family stories together.

Tiffany Midge: A response to winning the cultural appropriation prize (May 22, 2017)

Hal Niedzviecki is the winner of the Flaming Bag of Poo Prize for Best D-Bag Move by an Editor Propagating Appropriation and Racism

Gyasi Ross: Fired FBI director made sure Leonard Peltier stayed in prison (May 22, 2017)

Thing About Skins: There is nothing heroic about James Comey.

Steven Newcomb: The racist and toxic roots of federal Indian policy (May 19, 2017)

We ought to ask ourselves how well we as Native nations and peoples are making the effort to identify and name the domination and dehumanization imposed on our ancestors.

Arne Vainio: Expressing gratitude for the people we have around us (May 19, 2017)

We get one go-around and one shot at making this life worthwhile.

Steve Russell: There's a downside to impeaching Donald Trump (May 18, 2017)

Is America, let alone Indian country, comfortable with the line of succession after President Trump?

Albert Bender: Police slaughter of Red and Black people rages unabated (May 18, 2017)

We don’t know who will be the next victim, but what we do know is that there will be more victims.

Alex Jacobs: Donald Trump is starting to act like he's guilty of something (May 17, 2017)

Has President Trump stepped in it yet, and if not, what happens next?

Ruth Hopkins: Americans left with $15M bill for Dakota Access Pipeline's 'private army' (May 17, 2017)

Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND) added monies to the Department of Justice’s budget for FY 2017 to reimburse North Dakota for incurred costs.

Editorial: Oil money brings better life to the Mandan, Hidatsa and Arikara Nation (May 15, 2017)

If they accomplish all the plans the reservation will be a better place and other areas of the state will get a boost.

Sarah Sunshine Manning: Loving all of our mothers unconditionally (May 15, 2017)

Loving our mother’s unconditionally validates their sacrifices this Mother’s Day

Tiffany Midge: Some hilarious conversations with my Lakota mom (May 15, 2017)

Sharing humorous talks with mom on Mother’s Day

Liz Perez Halperin: Environment will define the Donald Trump era (May 12, 2017)

The Trump era will, one day, be used as a case study for how it catapulted the environmental industry forward and brought greater attention to climate change.

Harold Frazier: The Dakota Access Pipeline isn't supposed to leak (May 12, 2017)

This pipeline was promised to be so safe that the possibility of an oil leak was astronomical.

Native Sun News Today Editorial: Donald Trump's racial slur draws laughter from far right (May 12, 2017)

This is probably the first time in the history of the American presidency that lies become meaningless.

André Cramblit: Celebrating the music that shapes our Native lives (May 11, 2017)

An appreciation of music, from the heartbeat in the womb to the guitars of Zappa.

Mitch Landrieu: Growing beyond our racist history in New Orleans (May 11, 2017)

If we don’t want to be forever held back by our crushing history of institutional racism, it’s time to relegate these monuments to their proper place.

James Giago Davies: Stumbling on perfection in an imperfect world (May 11, 2017)

Every once in a great while, you will come across something that is totally perfect.

Peter d'Errico: When to collaborate and when to resist colonialism (May 10, 2017)

Native people's relations with colonialism requires as much clear analysis as possible—to gauge when and where to collaborate, when and where to resist.

Steven Newcomb: Supreme Court justice became known for 'scalping' Indians (May 9, 2017)

A closer look at Stanley F. Reed’s tongue in cheek phrase ‘generally scalping the Indians’ and the Tee-Hit-Ton decision.

Mark Trahant: Guess which other president liked signing statements? (May 9, 2017)

The Trump White House is eager to destroy the federal government as it exists now.

Bryan Newland: Trump team quickly brings back fears of termination (May 9, 2017)

The Trump Administration could earn a lot of trust by issuing a clear, unequivocal, and unqualified statement that it will oppose any legislation or lawsuit that would diminish the legal status of Indian tribes or remove legal protections for existing Indian lands.

Donna Loring: Donald Trump's hero was the father of Native American genocide (May 9, 2017)

Andrew Jackson was the architect of a Native America genocide.

Terry Tempest Williams: Will Bears Ears be the next Standing Rock? (May 8, 2017)

If President Trump is successful in rescinding Bears Ears National Monument, it will be a breach of faith with our future and our past.

Mark Trahant: Republican Party owns 'mean-spirited' health care bill (May 8, 2017)

Every Republican who voted for this mean-spirited bill must now defend against every American who has any problem with insurance or health care.

James Giago Davies: Uncle Sam just baked everyone some cupcakes (May 8, 2017)

Most enlightened people in Western democracies think propaganda is something that dupes the people of inferior countries, but that they understand how society works.

Tim Giago: Charlene Teters stood her ground against racist mascot (May 8, 2017)

Imagine if you will a scene that took place more than 30 years ago on the campus of the University of Illinois.

Stay Connected

On Facebook

On Twitter

On Google+

On SoundCloud

Archive

2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007

Advertisement

Home | Arts & Entertainment | Business | Canada | Cobell Lawsuit | Education | Environment | Federal Recognition | Federal Register | Forum | Health | Humor | Indian Gaming | Indian Trust | Jack Abramoff Scandal | Jobs & Notices | Law | National | News | Opinion | Politics | Sports | Technology | World

Indianz.Com Terms of Service | Indianz.Com Privacy Policy
About Indianz.Com | Advertise on Indianz.Com

Indianz.Com is a product of Noble Savage Media, LLC and Ho-Chunk, Inc.