Indian Citizenship Act was signed into law today
President Calvin Coolidge signed the Indian Citizenship Act into law 84 years ago today.

The law extended citizenship to all American Indians born in the U.S. Despite its passage, tribal members were denied the right to vote in many states until the 1950s.

Rep. Homer Peter Snyder (R-New York) sponsored the law and was chairman of the Committee on Indian Affairs.

Get the Story:
Today in History - June 2 (AP 6/2)