Indian Affairs Committee set for 111th Congress
The Senate Indian Affairs Committee is getting down to business with a new vice chairman and some new members for the 111th Congress.

Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-North Dakota) remains chairman, a role he assumed in the 110th Congress. Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyoming) was formally elected as vice chairman at a business meeting last Thursday.

New members of the committee are Sen. Tom Udall (D-New Mexico) and Sen. Mike Johanns (R-Nebraska), who are also new to the Senate. Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) rejoins after a brief hiatus, while Sen. Richard Burr (R-North Carolina) has departed.

The changes give the Democrats a total of eight seats, compared to six for Republicans The committee may gain another member if Democrat Al Franken secures the U.S. Senate race for Minnesota.

Related Stories:
Video link for Indian Affairs hearing on health (2/5)
Sen. Barrasso to serve as Indian Affairs vice chair (2/5)
Indian Affairs Committee agenda and witness list (2/4)
Changes in store for Indian Affairs Committee (1/26)

Join the Conversation