Five running for Assembly of First Nations chief
Five candidates have been certified to run for chief of the Assembly of First Nations.

Shawn Atleo (British Columbia), John Beaucage (Ontario), Perry Bellegarde (Saskatchewan), Terrance Nelson (Manitoba) and Bill Wilson (British Columbia) will appear on the July 22 ballot. The election takes place in Calgary, Alberta.

AFN Chief Phil Fontaine, who served two terms, announced last week that he would not seek re-election.

Get the Story:
Assembly of First Nations approves five candidates for national chief (CBC 6/17)

Related Stories:
AFN chief Phil Fontaine won't run for re-election (06/05)