Ceremony recognizes Council of Confederated Chilocco Tribes

A ceremony recognized the five tribes that make up the Council of Confederated Chilocco Tribes.

Under an agreement with the council, Oklahoma State University's University Multispectral Laboratories has used the former Chilocco Indian School for urban, and aviation operational testing.

“We are pleased to recognize the contribution the five tribes have played in national security through our partnership with them at Chilocco,” Stephen McKeever, Oklahoma’s Secretary of Science and Technology/Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer at OSU, said in a press release.

The Kaw Nation, the Tonkawa Tribe, the Pawnee Nation, the Ponca Nation and the Otoe-Missouria Tribe control the old school, which was in operation from 1884-1980.

Get the Story:
Council Tribes Recognized (The Ponca City News 3/14)

Join the Conversation