Top Chickasaw Nation leaders faced no challengers for re-election

Gov. Bill Anoatubby. Photo from Facebook

The top two leaders of the Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma will remain in office after no one filed to run against them.

Gov. Bill Anoatubby has led the tribe since 1987. During that time, the tribe's economy has grown dramatically -- from just 250 employees to nearly 13,000 today -- enabling the expansion of health, education, housing and other programs.

Anoatubby drew no challengers in the election so he will serve another four-year term, Election Secretary Rita Loder announced in a press release.

Lt. Gov. Jefferson Keel also will remain in office for another four years. He is a former two-term president of the National Congress of American Indians.

Tribal members will proceed to an election for two district seats and one Supreme Court seat. Balloting will take place by mail, with the results to be announced on July 28.

Related Stories
Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby seeks another term (6/2)

Join the Conversation