National | Politics

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe swears in executive committee members

The Minnesota Chippewa Tribe swears in its executive committee on August 12, 2016. Photo courtesy MCT

The Minnesota Chippewa Tribe swore in a new executive committee at a meeting on Friday.

The committee consists of leaders of each the six bands that make up the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe. Five of the leaders were present at the meeting:
Faron Jackson Sr., Chairman of Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe
Cathy Chavers, Chairwoman of Bois Forte Band
Kevin R. Dupuis Sr., Chairman of Fond du Lac Band
Norman W. Deschampe, Chairman of Grand Portage Band
Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive of Mille Lacs Band

Terry Tibbetts Sr., the chairman of the White Earth Nation, was unable to attend. So the committee will wait to select its four officer positions -- president, vice president, secretary and treasurer -- until he can be sworn in.

The executive committee meets four times a year. Friday's meeting was hosted by the Bois Forte Band.