Lakota Country Times: 'Empowerment' gathering turns out vote at Rosebud

Dave Assman, left, and Shawn Bordeaux are candidates for the Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative. Photo from Rosebud Sioux Tribe

Empowerment Gathering Scheduled for Rosebud
By Vi Waln
Lakota Country Times Correspondent

ROSEBUD – The Oyate For Fairness and Equal Representation (OFFER) will host a meeting in order to give Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative members an opportunity to meet Board of Director candidates.

OFFER will host the 4th Annual Tribal Empowerment Gathering and Feed on Friday, September 16, 2016, at the Sinte Gleska University (SGU) multipurpose building. The event will begin at 6:30pm. Entertainment and supper will be provided.

Cherry Todd Electric has scheduled their annual membership meeting for Saturday, September 17, 2016. Registration will begin at 9am at the Todd County High School Ben Reifel Auditorium. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 10am. There are currently 3 vacancies on the Board of Directors.

Hello Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative Members! Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative Annual Meeting Saturday, September...

Posted by Oyate For Fairness and Equal Representation on Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Candidates submitting their applications for the 2 Todd County board of director positions are tribal citizens Shawn Bordeaux and Pam Kills in Water. Other candidates are Dave Assman and J.R. Reagle.

Kathleen Wooden Knife, also a tribal citizen, is a candidate for the member-at-large board position on the Board of Directors. Other member-at-large candidates are Loren Buettner and Gary Garvin. All positions are for 3 year terms. Members will cast their votes at the annual meeting.

An empowerment breakfast will also be held on Saturday, September 17, from 8-9am at the SGU multipurpose building. Cash door prizes will also be drawn for during this meeting. You must be present to be eligible for door prizes.

Visit the Lakota Country Times and subscribe today

Over $1,000 in cash will be given away as door prizes to people who attend these meetings. These cash incentives are sponsored by the Rosebud Sioux Tribe. In order to be eligible for the door prizes, you must present your Cherry Todd Electric Cooperative registration card. You must also be present to win. Winners can pick up their cash after the Cherry Todd Annual meeting.

If you have questions about these events, please contact Ronald L. Neiss at (605) 208-6136, Paula Antoine at (605) 747-4225 or Rose Cordier at (605) 747-2381.

(Vi Waln is an enrolled citizen of the Sicangu Lakota Nation and is a nationally published journalist.)

Find the award-winning Lakota Country Times on the Internet, Facebook and Twitter and download the new Lakota Country Times app today.

Join the Conversation