Winnebago Tribe chooses Frank White as new chairman after vote

Leaders of the Winnebago Tribe were sworn into office on October 5, 2016. Photo by The Winnebago Indian News

The Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska has a new leader.

Frank White was selected for the chairman's post on Wednesday after winning re-election to the council, The Winnebago Indian News reported. He succeeds Darla LaPointe, who remains on the council.

White was one of three candidates who ran for an election that was held on Tuesday. Incumbent Kenneth Mallory and newcomer Coly Brown were the other winners.

In addition to White as chairman, the leadership consists of Vince Bass as vice chair, Kenn Mallory as secretary and Victoria Kitcheyan as treasurer, The Winnebago Indian News reported.

The council has nine seats.

Read More on the Story:
Three elected to Winnebago Tribal Council (The Sioux City Journal 10/4)

Join the Conversation