your internet resource on facebook on twitter on Google+ on soundcloud
phone: 202 630 8439
Fredericks Peebles & Morgan LLP
Advertise on Indianz.Com
Home > News > Headlines
Print   Subscribe
First State of Indian Nations address in the new Donald Trump era

Filed Under: National | Politics
More on: borders, brian cladoosby, dakota access pipeline, dc, donald trump, immigration, keystone xl pipeline, ncai, soin

Livestream: State of Indian Nations

All eyes are on the president of the largest inter-tribal organization as he delivers the very first State of Indian Nations address in the Donald Trump era.

Brian Cladoosby, the chairman of the Swinomish Tribe, has given three SOINs since becoming the leader of the National Congress of American Indians. But the one on Monday morning is the first with a new occupant in the White House.

Since being sworn in last month, Republican President Donald Trump has not said anything about Indian Country. Instead, he's approved the Dakota Access Pipeline and revived the Keystone XL Pipeline over tribal objections and has vowed to build a wall along the U.S. border with Mexico without considering the impacts on tribes.

"No Indians in sight as [executive order] allowing Dakota Access project to proceed is signed," Cladoosby observed on his Facebook page on January when Trump ordered his administration to "expedite" consideration the controversial project.

Cladoosby is delivering the speech at 10:30am Eastern at the Newseum in Washington, D.C. It comes as hundreds of tribal leaders and tribal citizens are in the nation's capital for NCAI's winter session. Attendees are due to hear from a slew of members of Congress from both parties in the afternoon.

Monday, February 13
1:40pm - Call to order by President Brian Cladoosby
2:15pm - White House Update with William Kirkland, Deputy Director of Intergovernmental Affairs
2:30pm - Sen. Tom Udall (D-New Mexico)
2:45pm - Rep. Tom Cole (R-Oklahoma)
3:45pm - Sen. James Lankford (R-Oklahoma)
4:15pm - Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
4:30pm - Rep. Norma Torres (D-California)

Tuesday, February 14
9:10am - Supreme Court Update
9:30am - Bureau of Indian Affairs Update with Mike Black, acting Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs
10:30am - Sen. Jon Tester (D-Montana)
11:15am - Rep. Don Young (R-Alaska)
11:30am - Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-California)
2:45pm - Champion of Change with Byron Dorgan of the Center for Native American Youth
7:00pm - 19th Annual Leadership Awards Banquet
Awardees include: Rep. Tom Cole (R-Oklahoma) and Chairman Dave Archambault II of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

Wednesday, February 15
9:00am - Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-Oklahoma)
9:45am - Indian Health Service Update with Rear admiral Chris Buchanan, Acting Director
10:00am - Alaska Lt. Governor Byron Mallott (D)
6:30pm - Reception at National Museum of the American Indian

Note: All events at the Capitol Hilton unless specified.

Copyright © Indianz.Com
More headlines...
Stay Connected:
On Facebook

On Twitter

On Google+

On SoundCloud
Local Links:
Federal Register | Indian Gaming | Jobs & Notices | In The Hoop | Message Board
Latest News:
Federal court blocks attempt to condemn lands on Navajo Nation (5/26)
Bill removes blood quantum requirement for Five Civilized Tribes (5/26)
Mark Trahant: Voting is just sooo hard in the era of Donald Trump (5/26)
Ryan Benally: Bears Ears was false promise for Native Americans (5/26)
Adrian Jawort: Should non-Natives ever write about our people? (5/26)
Native turnout fails to sway closely-watched election in Montana (5/26)
Eastern Cherokee council ousts chief for only 2nd time in history (5/26)
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe into election season with crowded field (5/26)
Lacrosse documentary 'Pride of a Nation' opens to strong reviews (5/26)
Seminole Tribe working hard to rid new casino of Trump's influence (5/26)
Lawmakers once again seek fixes to 'broken' Indian Health Service (5/25)
Secretary Zinke headed to National Congress of American Indians (5/25)
Bureau of Indian Affairs opens listening sessions on reorganization (5/25)
Kevin Washburn: Indian Country feels the pain with Donald Trump (5/25)
Yakama Nation landowners weigh offers as buy-back winds down (5/25)
Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe cannabis consultant found not guilty (5/25)
Secretary Zinke plans to work with tribes on drilling push in Alaska (5/25)
Republican candidate to replace Ryan Zinke charged with assault (5/25)
Democrats drop Andrew Jackson from name of event in Arkansas (5/25)
Chickasaw Nation breaks ground on $10M casino by Texas border (5/25)
Washoe Tribe celebrates 1st anniversary of unique gaming facility (5/25)
Keweenaw Bay Indian Community shares update on casino work (5/25)
Trump administration ready to let Cobell program run out of funds (5/24)
Northwest tribes slam Trump's budget for cuts to Indian programs (5/24)
Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe finds one bright spot in Trump's budget (5/24)
Pascua Yaqui Tribe reports jury conviction of non-Indian offender (5/24)
YES! Magazine: Native birthing center maintains tribal traditions (5/24)
Peter d'Errico: Founding Fathers conspired to take land from tribes (5/24)
Eastern Cherokee chief questions fairness of impeachment hearing (5/24)
Another guilty plea in theft of gaming funds from Winnebago Tribe (5/24)
Tribes clear legislative hurdle in bid for new casino in Connecticut (5/24)
President Trump confirms Indian Country's worst fears with budget (5/23)
Office of Special Trustee pitches lower budget as 'taxpayer' savings (5/23)
Steven Newcomb: Monuments to white supremacy harm our people (5/23)
Two more spills of oil from Dakota Access Pipeline in North Dakota (5/23)
Native woman in skirt and sandals wins ultramarathon in Mexico (5/23)
Brothers from Huichol Tribe murdered as drug war rages in Mexico (5/23)
Iowa Tribe misses deadline again to launch internet poker project (5/23)
Mississippi Choctaw citizens request vote on $25M casino project (5/23)
Aquinnah Wampanoag Tribe must wait to restart work on casino (5/23)
Documents show few meetings between Secretary Zinke and tribes (5/22)
Landowners on 2 reservations in Nebraska receive buy-back offers (5/22)
Human Rights Complaint: 'We are only letting the white people in' (5/22)
Mark Trahant: Funds for Indian health in danger under Republicans (5/22)
more headlines...

Home | Arts & Entertainment | Business | Canada | Cobell Lawsuit | Education | Environment | Federal Recognition | Federal Register | Forum | Health | Humor | Indian Gaming | Indian Trust | Jack Abramoff Scandal | Jobs & Notices | Law | National | News | Opinion | Politics | Sports | Technology | World

Indianz.Com Terms of Service | Indianz.Com Privacy Policy
About Indianz.Com | Advertise on Indianz.Com

Indianz.Com is a product of Noble Savage Media, LLC and Ho-Chunk, Inc.