Leaders of the Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation, from left: Matthew Lowell, Jr., Tribal Treasurer; Mia Durham, Council Member; Anthony Roberts, Tribal Chairman; James Kinter, Tribal Secretary; Burnam R. Lowell, Sr., Council Member. Photo courtesy Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation

Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation swears in new chairman and council

The Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation has a new leader.

Anthony Roberts was elected chairman at a community meeting on Sunday, the California-based tribe reported. He was promptly sworn in to his new post for a three-year term.

“I am certainly honored to take on this position for our nation – serving alongside such talented, dedicated colleagues – and to follow in the footsteps of the great leaders who held this role before me,” Roberts said in a press release.

Roberts is new to the chairman's post but not to the tribal council. He has served seven terms on the governing body, including four as treasurer.

Roberts has worked alongside Leland Kinter, who served one term as chairman, and alongside the legendary Marshall McKay, who served three terms.

“I have been involved in tribal government for many years now, and remain humbled by the opportunity to serve and by the trust placed in us by our citizens," Roberts said. "We are guided by the path the leaders before us have set, with our sole focus on what’s best for our tribe, today and tomorrow.”

Other tribal leaders sworn into office this week are James Kinter as Secretary and Matthew Lowell, Jr. as Treasurer, along with council members Mia Durham and Burnam R. Lowell, Sr.