Saginaw Chippewa Tribe on YouTube: Live Webcast : 2019 Tribal Council Swearing-In

Saginaw Chippewa Tribe announces new chief and council

The Saginaw Chippewa Tribe held a swearing-in ceremony for its new council on Tuesday.

Tim Davis was selected as chief by fellow council members with a total of 7 votes, according to the results. He will lead the tribe for the 2019-2021 term.

“It is truly an honor to be selected to serve as Tribal Chief for the Saginaw Chippewa Tribal community," Davis said in a news release. "Tribal Council will do everything in our power to ensure that we collectively work towards the best interest of our Tribe and for our members.”

Other executive position leaders were also chosen at the council meeting on Tuesday. Joe Kequom will serve as Sub Chief, Maia Spotted Tail will serve as Treasurer and Jennifer Wassegijig will serve as Secretary.

Martha Wemigwans was elected to serve as the Sergeant-At-Arms and Alice Jo Ricketts will serve as Chaplain. Ronald Ekdahl, Theresa Peters-Jackson, Ron Nelson, Chip Neyome, Carmen Otto, and Gayle Ruhl round out the tribal council.

Elections for the council took place on November 5,.

Read More on the Story
Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe elects new chief, leaders (MLive.Com December 5, 2019)

Join the Conversation