Fredericks Peebles & Morgan LLP
ads@blueearthmarketing.com   712.224.5420

Tim Giago: Broken treaties remain among America's deepest and darkest secrets (August 11, 2017)

While America is spending billions attacking other sovereign nations, there is still a dark secret it is hiding in its own backyard.

Doug Steiger: Reform the Indian Health Service by looking at tribal success stories (August 11, 2017)

Most of the infrastructure of Indian Health Service is geared towards complicated financial reporting requirements related to federal auditing, not the quality of the medical care, Doug Steiger writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Brian Lightfoot Brown: Welcome to the oldest recorded powwow in North America (August 9, 2017)

Powwow is among the most common words associated with Native Americans but do you know its origin?

Alex Jacobs: Beware the new 'tribalism' in American politics with Donald Trump (August 9, 2017)

Political figureheads are using tribalism as a form of deflection, Alex Jacobs writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Peter d'Errico: Indigenous music shines through despite invasion and colonization (August 8, 2017)

Native peoples provide creative energies to the world, despite invasion and colonization, Peter d'Errico writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Ray Cook: Our indigenous freedoms are directly tied to the freedom of the Earth (August 7, 2017)

Freedom is an illusion, and all we have are redemption songs, Ray Cook writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Tom Perez: Trump administration steers government toward the termination era (August 7, 2017)

By steering the government toward termination-era policies, President Donald Trump threatens the health and prosperity of Native Americans and drags us all backward, Tom Perez of the Democratic National Committee writes.

Mary Annette Pember: Ojibwe women are the ones who hold everything together (August 7, 2017)

Ojibwe women survived European attempts to undermine their role as ‘one who holds things together,’ Mary Annette Pember writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Michael Paul Hill: It is up to Native communities to chart our own futures again (August 7, 2017)

The People—the Nnee (known today as Western Apache)—need to follow the lead of their great ancestors and fight for life, Michael Paul Hill writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Steven Newcomb: Indigenous nations aren't obligated to follow colonial ideas (August 7, 2017)

There is a false assumption today that Native people have inherited from our ancestors an obligation to meekly accept dominating ideas and judgment, Steven Newcomb writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Opinion: International treaty can help protect indigenous women from violence (August 4, 2017)

Tribes and cities can adopt an ordinance that reflects the principles contained in the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women, Karen Melissa Hannel and Eric Hannel write in Indian Country Media Network.

Robert Jumper: Experts can help Eastern Cherokees bring in more tourists (August 3, 2017)

Our tribal leadership must find the balance between marketing, product development and governmental community services or the Cherokee community will suffer the loss, editor Robert Jumper writes in The Cherokee One Feather.

Bill John Baker: Cherokee Nation battles opioid epidemic among our people (August 2, 2017)

The opioid epidemic is ripping apart families, straining our tribal resources and wreaking havoc across the Cherokee Nation.

Mark Trahant: Native candidates advance to general election in Washington (August 2, 2017)

Washington state voters picked candidates in a primary election Tuesday and a number of Native Americans ran for offices ranging from city councils to the Seattle Port Commission.

Indian Lawmakers: Enbridge pipeline threatens Ojibwe way of life in Minnesota (August 2, 2017)

Enbridge's Line 3 proposal shows willful ignorance of Ojibwe history and rights, four Indian lawmakers in Minnesota write on Indian Country Media Network.

Mark Trahant: Let's provide Medicaid health care coverage for everyone (August 1, 2017)

Employer-based insurance must go away. It’s not sustainable, Mark Trahant writes for YES! Magazine.

Steve Russell: Fake Indians make money by claiming 'Cherokee' ancestry (August 1, 2017)

The right to monetize a tribal name is a collective right, not an individual one, Steve Russell writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Ezra Rosser: NFL team's racist trademarks sanctioned by our highest court (July 31, 2017)

A fan's choice to sport the Washington NFL team's logo shows either indifference or racism and in many cases is a combination of both, Ezra Rosser writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Mark Charles: John McCain embraces oppressive history in Senate speech (July 31, 2017)

Can we stop talking about when we were great and how soon we might be great again, and instead focus on building a nation where 'We the People' actually means 'All the People'?

Richard Frias and Todd Leahy: National monuments preserve Native culture (July 31, 2017)

Abolishing or diminishing Bears Ears would be in keeping with the President’s long standing animosity towards Indian tribes, two attorneys write on Indian Country Media Network.

Tiffany Midge: A gangster nicknamed 'The Mooch' enters the White House (July 31, 2017)

Can you tell the difference between Anthony Scaramucci, Tony Soprano and Tommy DeVito? Tiffany Midge has a quiz for you on Indian Country Media Network.

Mark Trahant: What's next for Indian health care after big fail in Congress? (July 28, 2017)

Congress has never even considered, let alone acted, to fully fund Indian health programs.

Joy Harjo: That time my hands tested positive for 'explosives' at the airport (July 27, 2017)

Being accused of running from airline security to cover for their mistake was just one moment in a nightmarish experience, Joy Harjo writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Mark Trahant: A day of bad jokes as Senate resumes debate on health care (July 27, 2017)

Today is humor day in the Senate. But at least the healthcare debate will go on and on without a conclusion

Steven Newcomb: Teaching students in California about true Native history (July 26, 2017)

An ideal Native Studies curriculum will teach students that the Catholic system of domination resulted in a traumatic holocaust in California, Steven Newcomb writes for Indian Country Media Network.

Mark Trahant: Indian Country goes ignored as Senate takes up health reform (July 26, 2017)

As the debate unfolds, the Senate is in a way making the case for why we need Native Americans in the legislative process.

Editorial: Montaukett Indian Nation deserves to be recognized in New York (July 25, 2017)

Newsday is calling on Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D) to sign a bill recognizing the Montaukett Indian Nation.

Cleve Davis: Racist and colonizing language deeply embedded in America (July 25, 2017)

Native Americans struggle with derogatory names and symbols every day, Cleve Davis writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Bryan Newland: The #fakenews crisis about the land-into-trust process (July 24, 2017)

Changes to the land-into-trust process will never satisfy critics, attorney Bryan Newland writes on Turtle Talk.

Mark Trahant: Senate Republicans attempt another vote on health care (July 24, 2017)

Another week and the United States Senate is ready to vote on legislation to remake the entire healthcare system, including Indian health.

Steven Newcomb: European concepts continue to oppress our nations (July 24, 2017)

Our original nations did not develop the words that are now being used to oppress our lives and our territories, Steven Newcomb writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Tiffany Midge: We all need to champion our indigenous sisters except... (July 24, 2017)

As indigenous sisters, we need to pull together and lift each other up, individually and collectively, Tiffany Midge writes on Indian Country Media Network.

André Cramblit: Summer is a time to keep the world in balance with dance (July 21, 2017)

Barbecuing season may be in full swing, but this year’s dance season celebrates an annual rite, Andre Cramblit writes on Indian Country Media Network.

Review: Fictional book about 'Lakota' people deserves benefit of the doubt (July 21, 2017)

Readers of Quiet Until the Thaw are going to find its contents rather familiar -- it's essentially a fictional account of the Oglala Sioux Tribe.

Gyasi Ross: Wealthy white man perpetuates poverty porn in Indian Country (July 21, 2017)

Mark Zuckerberg, the co-founder of Facebook, is visiting Native communities. Is that good? Gyasi Ross has more on Indian Country Media Network.