Spirit Lake Nation elects three officials in new vote

Members of the Spirit Lake Nation elected three new council members on Tuesday following a disputed primary process.

The first primary was declared invalid because members who weren't eligible to vote cast ballots. Only those who live on the reservation for a year prior to any election can vote.

As a result, a new primary was held before Tuesday's final election. Brian Steven Pearson, Shelly Luger and Lois Ann Legen were elected.

Get the Story:
SPIRIT LAKE: Tribe certifies election results (The Grand Forks Herald 5/19)

Relevant Links:
Spirit Lake Nation -