Mississippi Choctaws to hold election for six council districts

The Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians will hold an election on June 11.

Tribal members in six districts will elect representatives. Bogue Chitto, Conehatta and Pearl River will elect two council members each while Crystal Ridge, Standing Pine and Tucker will elect one each.

Beasley Denson, a former chief of the tribe, is running for the Standing Pine seat. He was defeated by incumbent Phyliss J. Anderson in 2011.

Get the Story:
Tribe to cast ballots in six precincts (The Neshoba Democrat 5/15)

Join the Conversation