Liana Onnen sworn in as chair of Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation

Liana Onnen was sworn in as chair of the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation on August 28. Photo from PBP

The Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation of Kansas has a new leader.

Liana Onnen, who has worked for the tribe for 12 years, was elected chair last month. She was sworn into office on August 28.

"I will always do what I think is best for the whole. I will not abuse the privilege of this position. I will listen openly and actively to our members. I will speak up and I will speak out for us," Onnen said on Facebook after winning the election.

Onnen will be joined on the council by four other women: Vice Chair Joyce Guerrero, newly elected Secretary Camilla Chouteau, Hattie E. Mitchell and Carrie O'Toole. Other council members are Warren "Junior" Wahweotten and Thomas M. Wabnum.

Get the Story:
Liana Onnen elected chairperson of the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation Tribal Council (The Native American Times 9/3)

Join the Conversation