Veterans from the United States Armed Forces were honored at the 24th Navajo Nation Council's Naabik'íyáti' Committee meeting in Window Rock, Arizona, on November 7, 2019. Among those honored were Navajo Nation Council Delegates Kee Allen Begay, Jr., Rickie Nez, Raymond Smith, Jr., and Eugene Tso. Navajo Nation Council Speaker Seth Damon joined the 11 programs and departments of the Navajo Nation's Legislative Branch in recognizing the 15 veterans that work throughout the various branch programs and on the council. Photo: Navajo Nation Council

Veterans Day Message from the 24th Navajo Nation Council

Speaker, Navajo Nation Council

The Great Navajo Nation honors our Diné and Native American service members in view of the great sacrifices veterans made to ensure our tribe, and our country, remain free to carry forward our democracy.

Our veterans carry with them the marks and honors that demonstrate their commitment to protecting freedom. Our veterans carry these honors at greater rates than nearly every other group of people in America.

It is with great regard for our veterans that we take time today to honor you, our warriors, for dedicating yourselves to this greater cause.

Our homes and our Nation have been enriched by the values you have passed on to your children, families, and communities. We ask everyone to join us in recognizing and honoring those among our people that have served.

Thank you for your service, and for continuing to demonstrate honor beyond your service in the military.

Speaker Seth Damon is currently serving his second term on the Council. During the 23rd Council, Speaker Damon served as the Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee and Vice Chair of the Eastern Navajo Land Commission. His goals for his term as speaker include promoting sustainable economic growth, expanding the Navajo Nation’s tax base, developing community infrastructure capacity, and working with the Council’s Standing Committees to advance their priorities.

Join the Conversation