Federal Register

This notice publishes the current list of 573 Tribal entities recognized and eligible for funding and services from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) by virtue of their status as Indian Tribes. The list is updated from the notice published on January 30, 2018.

This notice is published pursuant to Section 104 of the Act of November 2, 1994 (Pub. L. 103-454; 108 Stat. 4791, 4792), and in exercise of authority delegated to the Assistant Secretary—Indian Affairs under 25 U.S.C. 2 and 9 and 209 DM 8. Published below is an updated list of federally acknowledged Indian Tribes in the contiguous 48 states and Alaska. Amendments to the list include formatting edits, name changes and name corrections. The addition of six tribes to the list of Indian entities results from the January 29, 2018 enactment of the Thomasina E. Jordan Indian Tribes of Virginia Federal Recognition Act of 2017. The legislation recognized the Chickahominy Indian Tribe, the Chickahominy Indian Tribe—Eastern Division, the Monacan Indian Nation, the Nansemond Indian Tribe, the Rappahannock Tribe, Inc., and the Upper Mattaponi Tribe.

To aid in identifying tribal name changes and corrections, the Tribe's previously listed or former name is included in parentheses after the correct current Tribal name. We will continue to list the Tribe's former or previously listed name for several years before dropping the former or previously listed name from the list. The listed Indian entities are acknowledged to have the immunities and privileges available to federally recognized Indian Tribes by virtue of their government-to-government relationship with the United States as well as the responsibilities, powers, limitations, and obligations of such Tribes. We have continued the practice of listing the Alaska Native entities separately for the purpose of facilitating identification of them.