Tanana Chiefs Conference to select new president

The Tanana Chiefs Conference is selecting a new president this week to replace Harold "Buddy" Brown, who retired due to his ongoing battle with cancer.

Five people are seeking to lead the $80 million organization, which represents 42 tribes in interior Alaska. The candidates are Shirley Holmberg, Jerry Isaac, Will Mayo, Mike Smith and Jim Stevens. All emphasize the need for adequate federal funding and health care.

The election will be held Thursday.Whomever is elected will serve the remaining two years of Brown's three-year term.

Brown, 36, was diagnosed with cancer in October 2004. He is currently undergoing chemotherapy after the cancer spread to his bones.

Get the Story:
Delegates must pick new leader (The Fairbanks Daily News-Miner 3/15)

Relevant Links:
Tanana Chiefs Conference -

Related Stories:
Alaska Native leader to leave Tanana Chiefs post (02/16)
Alaska Native leader recovering from cancer (03/18)